Blackboard   |   BannerWeb   |   Student Email   |   Student Help Desk Staff / Faculty Email   |   Intranet   |   Sharepoint
Logo,Apply Now, Request Info Home Page - Lanier Technical CollegeApply NowRequest Information
    Skip Navigation LinksHome Page > Top Stories
Four finalists named for 2018 Rick Perkins Award
Learn more about ALL programs

Program of Study

Financial Aid

Lanier Technical College names Finalists for the 2018 Rick Perkins Award

Oakwood, GA
– An initial screening panel of peers has narrowed a long list of twenty instructors to four finalists for the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction at Lanier Technical College. In late 2017, students, staff, and fellow instructors were asked to nominate instructors for the chance to represent Lanier Tech at the local, regional, and state level as Instructor of the Year. Of the instructors nominated, nine chose to compete in a speech and interview process to select the winner.

The 2018 finalists include: Damien Anderson-Automotive Collision Repair Program Director and Instructor, Annette Baker-Health Information Management Technology Program Director and Instructor, Vanessa Jones-Dental Hygiene Instructor and Senior Clinic Coordinator, and Dr. Sravanti Kantheti-Anatomy & Physiology Program Chair and Instructor.

                                Damien Anderson photo                      Annette Baker photo

                                  Vanessa Jones photo                  Dr. Sravanti Kantheti photo

On Monday, January 22, a final selection committee of business and community leaders interviewed the finalists and selected a winner that will be announced at a banquet on January 24th. “From there,” says Melissa Chapman, Lanier Tech’s 2018 Rick Perkins Coordinator, “our winner will be surrounded by team and board members to help make our winner the best he/she can be before continuing on to regional competition in March.” These helping hands include the first-ever back-to-back state Perkins winners, Dr. David Byers and Christian Tetzlaff, who took home the overall title for Lanier Tech in 2014 and 2015, respectively.

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors technical education’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. The winner must also exemplify excellence and a commitment to the mission of the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) as the System’s Instructor of the Year. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the Rick Perkins Award was renamed in memory and honor of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Georgia Technical College (formerly known as West Central Technical College) who received the award prior to his untimely death.

Lanier Technical College offers over 50 programs of study in some of the nation's fastest-growing career fields including healthcare, energy, business and industry, and public or private service. More information about Lanier Technical College may be obtained by calling 770.533.7000 or by visiting Lanier Technical College is a Unit of the Technical College System of Georgia.

Campuses / Contact Us / Directions

© 2018 Lanier Technical College
2990 Landrum Education Drive, Oakwood, Georgia 30566
Effective Dec. 3, 2018, Lanier Technical College's new address will be: 2535 Lanier Tech Drive, Gainesville, GA 30507
Phone: 770-533-7000 | Fax: 770-531-6328
A Unit of the Technical College System of Georgia

An Equal Opportunity Institution | Disability Services | National Human Trafficking Resource Center

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader